Ministry of Finance

Government of India

The Ministry of Finance is an important ministry within the Government of India. It concerns itself with taxation, financial legislation, financial institutions, capital markets, center and state finances, and the Union Budget. The Union Finance Ministry of India comprises four departments:

- Department of Economic Affairs

- Department of Expenditure

- Department of Revenue

- Department of Disinvestments

It is the nodal agency of the Union Government to formulate and monitor country's economic policies and programmes having a bearing on domestic and international aspects of economic management.